Our History
    In 1955, a small group of citizens conceived the idea of forming an independent foundation for the purpose of privately funding activities aimed at enriching the educational experience of students. So, on November 16, 1955, the Columbus School Foundation was established in Columbus, Indiana.
    The fifteen founding board members were: Mary Bottorff, Robert Brown, Lowell Engelking, Lewis N. Essex, Louise Fish, Muriel Hamilton, Jane Kinney, W.R. Laws, Jr., L.A. Lockwood, John Marshall, Xenia Miller, J.P. Reeves, A.D. Silva, Jr., W.L. Wissman, and Florence Zaring.

    In 1966, the public schools in Columbus were brought together under a single administration as the Bartholomew Consolidated School Corporation. In response to this, the School Foundation changed its name to the Bartholomew Consolidated School Foundation. During the first 40 years of operation, the School Foundation awarded more than $1,000,000 to projects serving the students of Columbus.

    In January of 2007 the School Foundation hired its first Executive Director, Suzzette Holmes of Columbus, Indiana. Katherine Miller of Columbus served as interim director in late 2008. Katherine's grandmother was an original board member of the School Foundation.  In March 2009, Janice Montgomery began as the director.  On July 10, 2012, Ethan Crough stepped into the Executive Director’s position.  

    Beginning on October 24, 2016, Suzi Bruin was named Executive Director of BCSF.  The School Foundation Director works closely with the Board of Directors, the Bartholomew Consolidated School Corporation and others in the community who are pursuing educational excellence. The Director’s office is located at the BCSC Administration Building.


    Our Mission
    To support the work of BCSC by providing financial resources and by promoting awareness and philanthropy for programs that help students achieve educational excellence.
     Our Vision
    All Bartholomew Consolidated School Corporation students are achieving their full potential as learners.
     Our Guiding Principles
    We support BCSC and its mission. We believe in the power of: Partnerships, Collaborations, Innovations, Inclusiveness and Diversity.

    BCSF 2018 Board of Directors

    John Whittington - Board President Megan McGriff
    Ron Patberg - Treasurer Lora Mount

    Dr. Laura Hack - Secretary

    Mike Schubel 
    Dr. Jim Roberts  
    Shyamala Raghunathan Robyn Spoon
    Darin Sprong Mark Newell
    Heather Carson Dr. Jill Shedd
    School Foundation Board meetings are normally held the first Tuesday of every other month from noon to 1:00 p.m. at the Bartholomew Consolidated School Corporation Administration Building. (February, April, June, August, October, December)

    Executive Director:
    Suzi Bruin